Hit and run accidents are one of the most common accidents on the road. According to statistics, motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death to people between the ages of 1 and 34. Hit-and-run is considered to be a criminal offense. It is defined as the act of causing accidents on the road and the failure to stop and identify oneself.
On Wednesday, a 22-year old man was sentenced to three years of probation after causing the death of a 32-year old man. The Arizona hit and run accident happened near Southern Avenue and Rural Road last July. The victim was legally riding his bicycle when he was struck.
Hit-and-run accidents in Arizona have severe legal consequences including the suspension of one’s driver’s license or revocation of a license and imprisonment. In the United Sates, hit-and run penalties vary from state to state. Arizona, for instance has two guidelines with regards to leaving the scene of an accident or hit-and-run- accidents involving death or personal injury; failure to stop (ARS 28-661) and
accidents involving damage to vehicle; failure to stop (ARS 28-662) .
If you have been involved in a hit and run, the first thing to do is to stay calm and stop immediately. Drivers should also be aware that they must still stop even though the accident is not his fault or they might face hit and run charges instead of gross negligence.
If you or someone you know has been a victim of a hit and run, or other fatal traffic accident and would like to seek compensation, our Arizona auto accident wrongful death lawyers are here to help. Call us at (602) 267-1280.