As recently reported by ABC15, a man from Golden Valley was caught driving too slow in a 35 mph zone. The driver was a 64-year-old man who was first sighted around 2 a.m. at a truck stop. The employees of the truck stop called the authorities and reported the slow-running vehicle and the possibility of an intoxicated driver. Shortly after, the man was caught in the 600 block of Beale St. as he was driving 5 mph in the 35 mph zone. Deputies tested the man and found that he had a BAC of .201%. Officials also found that the man had a suspended license.
Arizona Drunk Driving Statistics
In Arizona, there are 137.19 people injured each day and 2.09 killed every day due to drunk driving crashes. Out of all 2010 crashes in Arizona, 5.16% were alcohol-related.
Arizona Drunk Driving Law
When a driver’s BAC (blood alcohol level) is above 0.08, they will receive penalties for driving under the influence. Alcohol blood content of 0.15 or 0.20 and above will receive even heavier penalties.
Arizona Liability for Driving Drunk
In Arizona, people who are caught with a BAC of 0.15 or higher will be categorized as ‘Extreme DUI’ and will likely be convicted of a criminal misdemeanor. Aside from an extreme DUI, penalties will also be increased with the presence of other factors, such as driving over or under a certain speed, as well as having a suspended license. It was a fortunate thing that the driver was caught by the police before he could do further harm to himself or cause serious injuries to others.
Contact an Experienced Arizona Car Accident Lawyer
In this case, we are lucky to report that a drunk driver did not do any physical harm to himself or anyone else. Many times, however, this is not the case and a drunk driver can cause serious injury to himself and others. As experienced drunk driving accident attorneys in Kingman, we have handled many cases where a drunk driver has caused serious injury to our client. People should never drive drunk, and when they make this choice and injure an innocent individual they should be punished and have to pay for all medical expenses and any other costs incurred by the victim. If you have been hurt by a drunk driver, call Alexis and Mark Breyer of Breyer Law Offices, P.C. They can help you and offer a free consultation. Call state wide at 602-457-6222 for your free consultation and to have your legal questions answered.